Sunday, 13 November 2022
Yong Siew Toh Conservatory Concert Hall, 5pm

Tickets: $25
Available here

MacPherson Philharmonic Orchestra presents a PROGRESSION of classical music through the turn of the 20th century. Journey with us through the sweeping waltzes and grand symphonies of the romantic era, to the swinging Jazz Age with Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, featuring piano soloist Ethan Sia.


Strauss / Die Fledermaus Overture
Gershwin / Rhapsody in Blue
Dvorak / Symphony No.7 in D Minor

Ethan Sia, is a *fourth-year student* at School of The Arts, Singapore (SOTA), studying piano under the tutelage of Timothy Ku. In 2019, Ethan was awarded the Arts Excellence Award in SOTA. He participated and won prizes in the Music Singapore International Violin and Piano Competition 2022 and Le Magnifique Music Competition 2022.

The MacPherson Philharmonic Orchestra (MPPO) is a community orchestra that caters to all music lovers, from children to classical music fans. It was founded by Lester Kong in 2017, winner of the Pierre Monteux 1st Prize in Conducting at the Smoky Mountain Conducting Competition. Today, MPPO comprises 70 volunteer musicians who come from all walks of life and are passionate about bringing music to the wider public.

Written By Editor

A contributing editor at TBP.