Sunday, 19 June 2022
Victoria Concert Hall, 8.15pm

$28, $38
Available here 

Be delighted by Mozart’s overture to the opera, “The Abduction From the Seraglio”, the comic tale of two men’s audacious attempt to rescue their lovers from a Turkish harem. 2021 Menuhin International Violin Competition (Junior) winner, 16-year-old Keila Wakao, then joins re:Sound as soloist in the Violin Concerto No.5, nicknamed ‘Turkish’ for its boisterous alla turca section in the final movement..

From the confluence of Asia and Europe, the music moves to the northeast of North America, in Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite, first commissioned as ballet music with Martha Graham dancing the lead role. Performed in its original 13-instrument chamber version, the suite is best known for Copland’s use of the charming Shaker melody, “Simple Gifts”.

Written By Editor

A contributing editor at TBP.