Join the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Central Band in an intimate gathering of musical conversation and listening pleasure in the 16th installment of their Chamber Repertory series.

Featuring a two part concert, the first will see Director of Music ME4 Ignatius Wang conduct Stravinsky’s Octet for Wind Instruments, a work completed in 1923, and scored for an unusual combination of flute, clarinet in B♭ and A, two bassoons, trumpet in C, trumpet in A, tenor trombone, and bass trombone.

The concert will also feature Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite for 13 Instruments, revolved around the Shaker tune ‘The Gift To Be Simple’.

Sunday, 25 April 2021
Esplanade Concert Hall, 5pm

The second part of the Chamber Repertory focuses on the percussion section, featuring the works of Clayton and Floyd, as well as a solo snare drum work by John Mark Reilly that combines a large vocabulary of rudimental drumming from pipe band traditions while maintaining a classic, traditional form.

CLAYTON Fractalia for Marimba Quartet
REILLY Iron Horse for Solo Snare Drum
FLOYD Triptych Boom for Solo with Trio
SEJOURNE Departures for Marimba Duo
SAMMUT Magic Carousel
TOTO Africa

30th April 2021
Esplanade Recital Studio, 8pm [FULLY SUBSCRIBED]

Visit to reserve your complimentary tickets now!
Do note that strict safe management measures will be implemented, according to the COVID-19 situation.

Written By Editor

A contributing editor at TBP.